How I Lost 15 lbs of Fat in 6 Weeks…While Never Feeling Hungry

Written by: Maxwell Fayans

Estimated Read Time: 6-8 minutes

After reading the Four Hour Body by Tim Ferriss, I was in for a challenge. I decided to go on my first diet. Thinking about this diet sounds difficult, but once I got in a routine, it became achievable. The diet is called the “Slow Carb Diet”. I wanted to share with you my version and what has worked for me.

I was able to go from 170 lbs to 155 lbs while losing 2 inches from my waist, 1 inch from my quad and 4 inches from my hips. Not only did I lose fat, but I have way more energy, feel satiated throughout the day and I’m sleeping better. A few weeks into the diet I began to notice how much carbs my friends and family eat. It makes up a majority of their meals. I do not have those urges to go after carbs like I used to and I am more aware of what I am eating.

IMG_4959

Here Are The Steps to Follow:

#1: Ease Yourself Into This
For the first week on this diet I started by exchanging my breakfast yogurt for eggs each morning. I give myself 15 minutes extra in the morning. The next step was eating my lunch sandwich with only one slice of bread and eventually no bread. Once primed, the final step was to go full force by week 2.

#2: Do Not Eat White Carbohydrates
This prohibits bread, pasta, pizza, pretzels, oatmeal, rice and cereal etc. The only time you are allowed to eat white carbohydrates is after a workout (weightlifting).

#3: Stick to These Foods for Each Meal (I recommend shopping at Trader Joe’s).

Proteins:
Egg Whites with One to Two Yolks
Grilled Chicken
Low Sodium Boars Head Turkey and Buffalo Chicken Cold Cuts
Skirt Steak
Seafood (Cod, Salmon, Tuna Fish, Shrimp)

Vegetables:
Spinach
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Green Beans
Kale
Eggplant
Zucchini

Legumes:
Lentils
Black Beans
Red Beans

Snacks:
Cashews
Flax Seed Peanut Butter
Carrots/Celery
Hummus

I eat as much as I like of the above foods until I am full. I tend to snack while I am studying at night. If I go out to eat for lunch or dinner I will go with steamed vegetables instead of fries and my protein being grilled chicken, steak or fish. For a quick meal, my favorite choice is Chipotle. For breakfast I either make an omelette, eat hard boiled eggs or use the Eggtastic with spinach and ketchup. Lunch and dinner have more options and can be seen in the pictures below.

I eat 3 meals per day and one snack:

Breakfast: 7:30 or 8am (important to eat breakfast within one hour of waking up and have 20 grams of protein in this meal)
Lunch: 1pm or 1:30pm
Dinner: 7:30pm or 8pm
Snack: 10pm

#4: Do not eat fruit
The only time I do eat fruit is after a workout and within 30 minutes. I eat California Raisins from Stop and Shop. Raisins are a fast acting carbohydrate and are good for muscle recovery. If the only thing in front of you at a party is a bowl of fruit, I would suggest a low glycemic fruit such as strawberries, blueberries and cherries.

#5: Do not eat dairy
Dairy spikes insulin levels which is why I avoid this. Only after a workout I will use mozzarella in my meals. I do avoid white/cream sauces and stick to red sauces like marinara.

#6: Do not drink calories
Upon waking up I drink ice water on my commute and iced coffee with 1 tbsp of half and half. I will also have 8oz of Diet Snapple per day with dinner.

#7: Take weekly measurements (Be consistent: I prefer Friday morning)
The 5 Measurements: Weight, Bicep, Quad Middle, Waist, Hips (I use Measuring tape)

#8: One Cheat Day Per Week
My cheat day is every Saturday. On this day I will eat anything I want and tend to go out to dinner. This is usually chocolate chip pancakes, angel hair pasta, pizza, vanilla ice cream, Hershey’s etc. Eating crap food one day per week can actually assist you in losing fat. This helps your thyroid to cope with an increased load of calories.

Other Tips: Cold Showers for Weight Loss
Being that it is the summer it has been easier to cope with cold showers. I start my shower with warm (not hot) water and then every 15-30 seconds I make it colder. By the time I am finished, the water is the coldest. I will stand under it for 10+ seconds and then shut it off and grab a towel immediately. Ease yourself into this. How does this help you to burn fat? Cold exposure can help to “activate” brown adipose tissue which generates heat and raises your metabolism. Additional benefit: your skin does not feel dry and tight after your shower, and it wakes you up better than coffee.

Learn more about Maxwell Fayans here

For more book suggestions: Check out Maxwell Fayans’ Book Club

16 thoughts on “How I Lost 15 lbs of Fat in 6 Weeks…While Never Feeling Hungry

  1. Pingback: What Can Your Ego Do For You? | Maxwell Fayans

  2. Pingback: How Saying No Can Change Your Perspective | Maxwell Fayans

  3. Pingback: In the Blink of An Eye, Anything Can Happen | Maxwell Fayans

  4. Pingback: Why you should ditch wheat and start eating more saturated fat. | Maxwell Fayans

  5. Pingback: How Can You Create New Brain Cells? A single ingredient can help. | Maxwell Fayans

  6. Pingback: Out to Eat: 32 Meals in 18 Days and the Damage Done | Maxwell Fayans

  7. Pingback: Live Worry Free: Tips from the great Dale Carnegie | Maxwell Fayans

  8. Pingback: How to Become One of the All Time Greats: 5 Keys | Maxwell Fayans

  9. Pingback: Investing in Great Businesses: Warren Buffett | Maxwell Fayans

  10. Pingback: Talking Happiness During Holiday Season | Maxwell Fayans

  11. Pingback: The Magic of Creativity | Maxwell Fayans

  12. Pingback: Tips To Stay Active At Work | Maxwell Fayans

  13. Pingback: 10 Kickboxing Essentials: Coming from a First Timer | Maxwell Fayans

  14. Pingback: Why Eat Grass Fed Foods? | Maxwell Fayans

  15. Pingback: Tips and Tricks To Add Veggies To Your Diet | Maxwell Fayans

  16. Pingback: My Morning Cocktail: TriBoom | Maxwell Fayans

Leave a Reply

