How the Sauna Can Help with Muscle Growth, Longevity and More

Written By: Maxwell Fayans

Estimated Read Time: 2-3 minutes

img_5412

The Sauna I Use After Every Workout

“It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver.” -Mahatma Gandhi

After listening to a podcast with Dr. Rhonda Patrick I decided to dig a bit deeper on sauna use and its effects on muscle growth, endurance, and longevity. After a 45 min to 1-hour weight training and stretching session, I go right into the sauna. I put a timer on my iPhone for 5-10 minutes and bring a water bottle in. I use the water on the sauna to form steam and heat up the room. This is your average sauna in a gym so it is nothing special. For those 5-10 minutes I will tend to relax and use it as a form of meditation. To note: I don’t breathe deeply as this causes me to become short of breath. I then dry off, drink some water and hop in a cold shower when I get home.

I knew that the sauna was good for your skin, immune system and as a way to detox but I wanted to learn more about its effects on the body. Here is what I found. I was amazed.

As per Dr. Patrick, Sauna Use May:

Increase Muscle Growth: Prevents protein degradation and increases protein synthesis

  • Increases release of growth hormone
  • Improves insulin sensitivity
  • Increases production of heat shock proteins (they help to keep proteins from misfolding which is associated with many diseases of aging)

Increase endurance by:

  • increasing nutrient delivery to your muscles
  • improving your cardiovascular mechanism and reducing heart rate
  • improving thermoregulatory control and reducing core temp during workout

Positive Effects on Brain:

  • Increases release and storage of norepinephrine
  • Increases the hormone prolactin which increases myelin production
  • Increases brain-derived neurotrophic factor which increases growth of new brain cells
  • Increases expression of dynorphin.

The Relation to Longevity:

  • Increases production of heat shock proteins
  • Activates the longevity gene: FOX03-a

How often do you use the sauna?

 

Other Popular Posts:

How I Lost 15 lbs of Fat in 6 Weeks…While Never Feeling Hungry

5 Steps to Mindfulness: The Splatter Art Way

What Can Your Ego Do For You?

More about Maxwell Fayans

Book Club: The Maxwell Fayans Book Club

One thought on “How the Sauna Can Help with Muscle Growth, Longevity and More

  1. Pingback: How Can You Create New Brain Cells? A single ingredient can help. | Maxwell Fayans

Leave a Reply

