Talking Happiness During Holiday Season

Written By: Maxwell Fayans

Estimated Read Time: 2-3  minutes

img_2951

“Happiness is not the belief that we don’t need to change; it’s the realization that we can.” -Shawn Anchor

I had The Happiness Advantage on audio sitting in the passenger seat of my car and for some reason I couldn’t get myself to listen to it. I finally decided to give it a try, as it was the only audio book left in my car that I did not read. I was hoping it was not one of those happy mumbo jumbo books, yet I was surprised from the get go and I was hooked. I could relate to the author and his experiences at Harvard. This might be my favorite happiness/positive thinking books/

This book even sparked a convo with one of my good friends Harjot Hans that I wanted to share below:

Me: I did some reading early this am and the way our society pushes us: They make us think that if we work extremely hard and sacrifice things, we will then be happy once we get that raise, promotion etc. However, the opposite is true. Success succeeds happiness. With a positive mindset and happiness along the way, this will help you to succeed at your job and make you successful.

Him: So instead of thinking get this job, then that degree, and the other job that makes 100k to get the car to be happy. You should be thinking this is great, I’m doing the right things and it’s such a blessing to be in this position?

Me: Be grateful right now for what you got. That you have the privilege to work at a biotech company. Be optimistic. When you live a life of positivity that will lead you to success.

Me: It’s when you sacrifice health and happiness by working so much that you are depressed or hate life with the end goal of getting that promotion or car. In the end you will not be happy as this negative lifestyle will consume you.

Him: Will keep that in mind

Him: It’s too easy to get consumed and fall off the wheel maynn

Me: Ik that’s why you need to be aware of these things and not let emotions get to you.

How have you brought positivity into your life?

Most Popular Posts:

How I Lost 15 lbs of Fat in 6 Weeks…While Never Feeling Hungry

5 Steps to Mindfulness: The Splatter Art Way

 

 

One thought on “Talking Happiness During Holiday Season

  1. Pingback: The Magic of Creativity | Maxwell Fayans

Leave a Reply

