Tips To Stay Active At Work

img_7212

“If you are insecure, guess what? The rest of the world is too. Do not overestimate the competition and underestimate yourself. You are better than you think.” -Tim Ferriss

Written By: Maxwell Fayans

Estimated Read Time: 2-3 minutes

I’m going to talk about a sedentary versus active lifestyle and how you can be active while you’re at work. Something I use is the Move app (it’s free) and I set it to run while I’m at work. Every 60 minutes it will remind me to get up and move. You get a cool quote with the reminder too. Something I do every morning when I get into work is I’ll do some air squats, usually 25 at a time. I also do some stretching which I learned from Pavel Tsatsouline book Relax into Stretch. This will do yourself justice by moving a little bit more each day. By the end of the work day I try to do at least 75-100 air squats.

They say sitting is the new smoking. I have moved to a stand up desk. However, standing in one spot is the not key either. It’s moving around as much as possible all day. I always have a lacrosse ball at my desk and will use it to roll out my feet once a day while standing. This self-myofascial release is key to loosening those small muscles. It feels great. I was also referred to read the book: Becoming a Supple Leopard by Kelly Starrett which I just ordered. One thing that I enjoyed reading from Starrett online was how to properly stand. I agree that flexing your core at 20%, keeping your shoulders back and glutes tight, will give you better posture. I can’t stand all day so I do have a chair in my office that I will sit at here and there to give my legs a break. How do you maintain an active lifestyle at work?

Other Popular Posts:

How I Lost 15 lbs of Fat in 6 Weeks…While Never Feeling Hungry

More about: Maxwell Fayans

My Favorite Books: The Maxwell Fayans Book Club

One thought on “Tips To Stay Active At Work

  1. Pingback: How One Product with Hundreds of Spikes Can Make a Difference | Maxwell Fayans

Leave a Reply

